While the kids are enjoying to harsh sun in the heat of July, the department store where I am working has already started promoting the annual ¨Back to School¨ items and sales. I thought of going to see what school supplies just came in, but remembered that there is no need. I’ve been forgetting that I don’t have school anymore, which is not surprising because all I had known to do in this life so far was to be a student. Funny enough, I feel a little guilty of not being able to take summer classes. It’s like my existence is unproductive.

Instead of wasting my summer away, I signed up for some online courses. Most of them are from the ¨Education¨ category. Why? Because I am going to be an ¨auxiliar de conversación¨ in Spain soon and I need to be prepared as much as possible.

While the schools in the US is around the corner, the Spanish schools won’t resume until September. Most of Spain is probably on vacation right now; so I didn’t expect my prospective boss to be replying to my e-mail soon. Fortunately, I was wrong.

According to the e-mail, the school hours* will be as follow:

  • Primary group starts at 8:30 a.m. and ends at 4:00 p.m.
  • ESO and Bachillerato (Secondary School, High School) has 5 periods from 8:30 a.m. to 1:20 p.m. (3 periods, a 25′ break and 2 periods); lunch for 1 hour; and 2 periods from 2:20 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.
  • However, there is also have Vocational Training Studies  (Professional Studies) and they have a different schedule. For this group, school starts at 8:30 a.m. and finish at 2:15 p.m., except for those that have an afternoon schedule.

Nonetheless, my schedule will depend on the assigned levels, which I will not find out until the fall semester starts.

We’ll see.

~Brisa

