Hi, it’s me again, your soon-to-be college graduate working as an unofficial full time sales associate before heading off to Spain to pursue a Master’s in International Education.

Today was the first time that I have seen my HR manager since the last day of school. We first met almost two years ago at the Summer Career Fair hosted by my university. It was because of this sweet lady with a thick Southern accent that I was hired. She had been ever so kind to work around my school schedules, never questioning the days that I asked to be off because I had an exam or a special lectures to attend, not even when I asked her to reduce my hours from 35 a week to 15-20 – but that is going to be very different now.

A few weeks ago, I had notified her that I will be available 24/7 after school was over. And boy, did she take it very seriously.

Next week I’m scheduled to work 6 days.

Nothing to complain here. In fact, I asked a fellow co-worker if she would like me to take her Monday’s shift. And that’s that. It’s a 7-day work week for me…which is, what, at least 45 hours?

Being forever an opportunist, I am looking forward to getting the best of this unique time period. I hope that this humble job will teach me to be a better person: more patient, open-minded, tolerant, professional, optimistic but realistic…more “grown up”…

At the ripe young age of twenty, I still have so much to learn. As much I as I would rather be travelling/studying/living in Spain right now, it doesn’t mean that I can’t learn to grow at “home” (hate this term, but for a lack of a better word- but that’s a different story).

Like I said, it’s a humble job. It definitely tears down the ego of a Cum Laude graduate when she has to pick up a twisted swimsuit from the floor in the dressing room, or being blamed for things that are totally out of your control, etc., etc. It makes you appreciate kindness even more and teaches you to be kind to those serving you – those who seem that they are “lower” or “under” you.

I have come to conclude that one’s worth does not come from wealth, occupation, education, or background, but from his/her attitude. In other words, one’s true value is based on how he or she sees the world and treats people in it.

~Brisa

