Packing

Thursday, 7am.

No degrading manual labor today, but that still means no rest. Not only do I need to pack for study abroad, I still need to pack for moving into a different apartment. So far, I have been working on organizing the things that lay on the floor in a corner of the room. Like a typically unorganized college student, it is filled with pieces of papers, notes, notebooks, and textbooks that are worth a couple of paychecks from working part-time…

Perhaps the word “hoarder” may sound a tad bit too harsh, but it can describe me pretty well.

I have a difficult time getting rid of the materials from my previous class. It feels like throwing away treasure, literally and figuratively.

The saddest thing is that I have yet to read some books or fill up a notebook. It’s coming back to haunt me that I had given up as easily as starting something. There, I admit it.

At least it comforts me to know that I have been keeping up with this blog. About time that I commit to something.

That’s it for now. Back to cleaning/packing and dealing with nostalgia. I would be done by now if I quit appreciating what I’m keeping or throwing away.

I’m going to play Pablo Alboran’s “Te he echado de menos” (I Have Missed You”) song as I go along. Easily the best song with the most beautiful lyrics and reach into your soul and take you a thousand miles away….Well, make it four thousands and a half, as it takes me to Malaga before I can even be there physically – in three weeks’ time.

Strange feeling it is, to miss someone so much, but you don’t know who. The only thing you know is that he is so far away.

 

~Brisa

 

 

~

Leave a Reply

