I made a blog to record every little things that happen both outside and inside of my head that happen before my actual journey abroad.

While it is mainly about studying abroad, it also includes details about the independent travel that I have been planning…

After dreaming about the trip since high school, I began planning the trip out during the whole time that I am in college. It is almost here – just a little three months and a quarter to go.

I have been “planning” for so long that I feel it is appropriate to use the word “plotting” instead. It sounds more…mysterious and all that.

Anyway,

Besides it is in my nature to being somewhat stingy, I contemplate every single time that I have to spend money, that for every dollar that I spend, I could have use it towards…clothes.

I have made a promise to myself to never spend money on clothes again until I hop off the plane. So far, the only exceptions I have made is buying a new pair of flip flops (because the old one literally disintegrated) and some dress shirts for the job that I was hired last year. I didn’t spend it on anything major for leisure. In the other words, I hadn’t really shopped.

That promise was made two years ago. T-w-o YEARS, since the summer that I graduated from high school. What did I do to myself???

In order to torture myself a bit further, I began working in a department store. Bright idea, no?

Well, torture was a strong word.

It’s not like I see the pieces that I have to have everyday. No, not at all.

Because I have my eyes on the Spanish brands. 

So this post, which is long overdue, will be dedicated to the world of Spanish fashion.

To any low to intermediate mistress (“mistress” because she has an affair with fashion. HA! Get it? …zzz…Never mind, moving on) of fashion, it is obvious that the Spanish empire of fashion is dominated by Inditex.

The first thing that comes to my mind when thinking of Inditex is, of course, Zara, whose dominant reign  started off somewhere in La Coruña, Galicia. It is perhaps one of Spain’s best success stories, in which its founders (who were married) turned into one of the world’s richest people. The store grew and grew, expanding more branches all over Spain and eventually the world. The co-founder and now the third richest man in the world then established a fashion group called Inditex, adding more brands like Massimo Dutti, Pull & Bear, Bershka, Stradivarius, Oysho, and Lefties, just to name a few. I am sure the brands Uterque and Tempe are included, too, but I’m not going to talk about these two today since I don’t have much information about them just yet.

Ah, of course, there is Mango, founded in Barcelona. Do you really think I’m not going to talk about my most favorite brand? And how can I forget about Hoss Intropia?

The only thing that Mango and Hoss Intropia have to do with Inditex is competition. That is that.

I cannot say with confidence where my loyalty lies. I love Mango, but the problem would be that I also love all the other Inditex brands but Zara. Let’s not begin discussing how much I love Hoss Intropia.

I guess here goes my one-on-one analysis. This is by no means a professional opinion nor a credible one; it is only based off of what I feel. As a broke college student who is saving every penny to go study abroad (so maybe she can someday by these clothes), I only have three Mango shirts… and that’s that. My third one was regrettably bought today. Someone bought it for me, actually…but the guilt is still there all the same. Anyway, here goes:

Image

  • Mango: My gosh, where to begin? My impression is that many of their shirts like the one in the picture below that I got today, are cut in such a way that the sleeves are really board and lose, hanging of the shoulders in an effortless and casual way. Apologies for my lack of technical words, but you know what I’m talking about.

Image

Their clothes have relatively great quality for the price that you pay for. It is a fairly affordable brand, and it is available in select JCPenney stores in the U.S. Of course, they have clothes in all kinds of colors, but I am noticing a few prints and stripes this season, but the one kind of pattern that I am most likely to wear is polka dots, and Mango does have quite a few of those. Their clothes are really effortlessly cosmopolitan. It seems like every piece is made to fit the “street style”, regardless of how casual it is. Mango likes to flirt with the theme of cities around the world, which I sometimes find attractive. I also love their print t-shirts, most of which are really clean-cut, relaxed yet put together, and easy to wear. Here are a few of my favorites:
top

shirt

M

 

I think the target group is young women, but you do occasionally see shirts with Disney characters, especially Mickey Mouse. Another point that is not my most favorite includes some of their themes around skulls and 90’s college wear, but that is about it. Here are the examples of my not-so-favorites, but others may say differently:

L

LL

LLL

In addition, what is interesting to me as someone who is studying the language is that on its shopping website, Mango categorized all shirts to be “partes de arriba“, which can be roughly translated into tops. And yet, once you click on that button, it expanded into more specific categories like blusas (blouses), , camisas (shirts), camisetas (t-shirts),…and TOPS…in English. I thought that was interesting.

My gosh, that will be it for now. I realize that I haven’t talked about their other types of articles of clothings, but I hope one can get the general idea of what the brand is about. I will post about the others later. Bona nit!

 

~Brisa

