Hotels? BOOKED!

Phew. It had been a few intense hours of researching and booking. I think I have found what I was looking for.

I’m going to spend 3 nights on the biggest island of the Balearic, 4 nights in Barcelona, and 5 nights in Madrid!

I wish I could stay longer, but we will see. So far, I’d like to think that I’ve done well – almost 2 more weeks in Spain with just $750 of accommodation!

Well, I have this childish dream of staying in a 5-star hotel; but that’s not gonna happen here – not yet, anyway.

I want to have some extra money so I can be as carefree as possible. The amount worth of a couple nights in a luxurious hotel would get me some good food…and some clothes.

Now I just have to book the flights. Let’s see here…

To get from Malaga to the Island, I’d have to pay around $170. (2.5 hrs)

To get from the Island to Barcelona, it would cost me $250!!! (3 hrs)

And (almost finally), to get from Barcelona to Madrid, the plane ticket would be around $120…(1 hr 20 min)

I’m thinking of taking a train to Madrid…But it’s actually more expensive than the plane!!! I’ve just read that the bus is the cheapest way to go, but also the longest. I might opt for this option! Less than 50 bucks to see Spain from Barcelona down to Madrid? Sign me in! I don’t care about sitting still for 7-8 hours. In fact, I’ve been sitting here in front of my laptop, booking away since 7:30 pm…It’s now 11:34 pm. Funny how fast time FLIES when you are not doing anything really physically productive.

Now, the “hotels” that I have booked are more like hostels, which is totally fine with me. I was initially disappointed after reading a review about my third hotel and how it was not as clean as it could have been… I was thinking of looking for other options, but then I took a glance around my room and felt like dirty is no stranger of mine. Another hostel that I was about to book first in Madrid also has a con: noise level. Then again, I could care less. I went to sleep just fine in Bangkok with the windows open. Motorcycles never stopped to pass by and the people were enthusiastically talking loudly throughout the night and others were loudly cheering on for soccer. Nah, noise is no problem.

It’s also the first time that I have booked a hotel by myself. I might ask my mom for advice, but she’s not even home. Whatever. I’m over it. She can be wherever she wants to be, and so am I. The only difference is that I will be as far away as possible. Thank goodness. I can’t wait.

It’s so rewarding to know that this is all me, all my doing, that I’m making and paying for the study abroad program and my solo travels. I’m set on the right path, as long as no one is borrowing my money. I don’t have anything to give right now. I don’t have anything to offer. I just need to get away from it all. A pity that I have to return, really. But this is just a first small step toward a lifelong path to the interminable journey of finding what I have always looking for: myself.

 

~Brisa

 

Leave a Reply

