(Source: Gonzalo Arroyo Moreno/Getty Images Europe)

If asked what is the one thing that someone should know about me, I would answer that I LOVE SOCCER. This will explain the many more posts to come that are related to soccer, or soccer players. For the sake of speaking naturally and frankly according to my first language, I will refer to “soccer” as fútbol, which automatically and unintentionally convert “soccer player(s)” into futbolista(s), even though my first language is not Spanish. However, depending on my mood and whether I am willing to open a new tab and find the letter “u” in Spanish with an accent mark, I will sometimes call this beautiful game football. Also, I am accustomed to calling soccer players as football players, or “players” and “‘ballers” for short.

I have had so many favorite soccer players [many, many, many more posts on this later]. I used to think “Oh, I loooove this one or that one. He is my most favorite player of all time”. Boy was I wrong.

I don’t think I can love any player as much as I love Isco.

Yesterday, I woke up bright and early and relentlessly searched for Real Madrid TV’s online broadcast of the live event: the signing of the contract and presentation of Isco. I want to have the link here so I can watch it again and again: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uoJbF8rj1ME

He looked absolutely STUNNING in that navy blazer. I normally don’t like that kind of blazer, the one with “patches” on the elbows (I apologize for my lack of knowledge in fashion’s vocabulary). I usually think that this design is really old-fashioned. But he wore it well, it looked very classy on him instead of dated; I guess the cut was great-just the perfect size (fit!) for him, too-which is probably why it actually looked modern on him. Also, his hair and haircut were beautiful. He looked better than a model. 

Stunning, stunning, stunning!!!! Isco is too handsome to be real.

 The 21-year-old also appeared to be very calm in the presence of five thousand fans who were there to witness him wearing a Real Madrid jersey for the first time. He will be leaving his childhood club, Málaga (ding, ding, ding!-more on this later, count on it!) to play for Los Blancos for at least five seasons. He will wear #23, because his childhood and Under 21 Spanish national team’s number, 22, is unavailable. He admitted that he chose 23 because it was his brother’s birthday. Needless to say, his brother was there with him at Real Madrid’s Santiago Bernabéu Stadium, along with his parents, and a mysterious woman…Hmm… I don’ think it is his lover though.

Real Madrid fans, called “Madridista(s)”, were more than warm and welcoming. They kept chanting his name, and, as a loyal Madridista myself, it gave me chills. Isco gave a short, straightforward speech that I could surprisingly understand… It was a magical feeling to understand what a Spaniard is saying for once. Then, he changed into his new gear, wearing number 23, and he still looked just as amazing as he was in that white shirt, navy blazer, and khakis.

Although no one looked more beautiful than Isco himself on that day, I was pleasantly surprised at the amount of young and handsome fans…And they were just my type. I’d love to have a guy who knows what(football!) I’m talking about for once. My man would have to love football enough to wake up at 2am to catch a live game with me. That would be the day.

I could feel that he was in the stadium, whoever he might be. Preferably, I want it to be Isco himself. My fantasy knows no limit.

Later, I found out that he was in a press conference before signing the contract : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QGgIPQzi_U0 He handled it so well. The press won’t leave him alone about him being a fan of the arch rival FC Barcelona, which, to some extreme Madridistas, is frowned upon. (The teams and their supporters more or less hate each other. It’s the biggest rival in sports, since it has to do with Spanish politics, cultures, languages, and geography, I actually wrote a paper about this. I might discuss it on here later). Since the announcement of his contract with Real Madrid, he had been attacked and ridiculed for being a “Cule” (Barca supporter) and anti-Madrid (which is exactly what he called himself in an interview given in 2009). They asked him why he named his dog after Barcelona’s “Messi” (the 3-time FIFA Ballon d’Or award winner, considered by many to be the best player in the world *pukes). These vultures of reporters make the biggest deal out of absolutely nothing. I don’t think they expected to hear Isco’s clever reply, adding that he also had a dog named Figo (former player from Portugal who was under fire after transferring from Barcelona to Madrid). He also said that “Soy el más Madridista que hay (I am the biggest Madridista that there is). In the end, he made it through the press conference, on top of winning the hearts of Madridistas…especially mine.

Es mi nene, mi muñekito malagueño ❤

BIENVENIDO AL REAL MADRID, FRANCISCO ROMÁN ALARCÓN SUÁREZ

~Brisa

