On Football Articles

And it happened again. I have been distracted from studying or doing homework by these delightful articles about football (ok, more precisely, about Isco).

I’m actually at my university’s library, so I feel even more guilty about being strayed away from doing productive work. I know I should be using this computer for doing school work, but I just can’t help myself. After all, blogging is sort of productive. It’s better than using a school computer for,say, streaming live UEFA U-21 football from Israel, which, of course, is exactly what I’ve done. And no, I didn’t get kicked out of the library (to my pleasant surprise). A few students who walked by me did stopped to see what the heck I was watching, though. I got a few chuckles out of them – not that I mind.

Lately, I’ve been reading articles from Marca everyday – sometimes in Spanish, other times in English. I know it’s better to read them in Spanish just to get my reading skills going, but sometimes I get a little impatient. I can read faster in English, and it doesn’t help that sometimes Marca has the most intriguing content that just begs me to finish reading it as fast as I can without having to stop and translate some words. I love this website; it’s unbelievably biased, a total Madridista piece of work. I’m not sure if I should call it a “news” website, since it is full of biase and gossips about things that warm the hearts of Madridistas that would probably won’t happen, in other words, lies. Marca has absolutely zero “ethics” of journalism. I might be wrong here-considering that I don’t know much about journalism-but I’ve always thought that “journalists” are supposed to deliver the most accurate news without touches of personal judgment. Then again, is there such thing that isn’t “personal”? Everyone likes to say that this and that should not be taken personally, especially if it’s for business. Such liars. Often times these are the people who attack others personally; they’re just saying that as an excuse so they can feel better about themself when they take things to a personal level.

Regardless, I still love reading Marca. After all, I’m a Madridista.  

However, I read other articles that are not from Marca every now and then, usually in English though. I ran into this article http://www.sportskeeda.com/2013/07/06/isco-is-better-for-real-madrid-than-neymar-is-for-barcelona/ and I will say that it made my day. Thank goodness someone has finally come out and make it clear that Isco is better than Neymar.

This one is an excellent piece, one that I haven’t seen in a while http://backpagefootball.com/adios-spain-not-for-the-next-decade-at-the-very-least/60146/. It makes me gain confidence in Spanish football again after the horrid performance of the Confederations Cup final. I have always found inspiration in football. I admire these players. They have begun playing competetively since they were as little as seven or eight years old. No wonder why they are so “talented” and skillful now. I’m a little jealous of how they have always knew what they want and are very committed to specific goals. Of course they went through intense training, but at the end of the day they are still determined because they know exactly what they want.

This probably will not be the last of me talking about random football articles. I wish I could talk about this one a little more, but I really need to finish my homework plus writing two articles that I need to start… Too bad I can’t just sit around all day reading football articles, watching futbolistas’ interviews, or catching or rewatching a game. Too very bad indeed.

~Brisa

Leave a Reply

